BOOKS AND EXCERPTSBIOGRAPHYREVIEWS AND AWARDSBOOK CLUB RESOURCESRECIPESLINKSMAILING LIST
Marta Perry

REVIEWS | AWARDS

 

The Rescued is a journey of emotions; happiness, sadness, joy, torment, and is bound to have you crying at one point or another. Marta Perry adds such richness and depth to her stories that the reader actually comes to know the characters as friends. Mart Perry has once again captured my heart with the gentle wisdom and heartfelt faith of the Amish community.”  --Fresh Fiction reviews

“Crisp writing and distinctive characters make up Perry’s latest novel. Head-strong Allison is a strong protagonist who will appeal to readers. Perry’s well-crafted plot contains good suspense, a few twists and a tenderly budding romance. Where Secrets Sleep is a truly entertaining read.”  --RT Book Reviews

“Abundant details turn this Amish romantic thriller series launch into a work of art. The intricately constructed plot (Where Secrets Sleep) features relatable, believable characters face with realistic struggles both large and small. This is an excel beginning to what promises to be a series of rewarding, satisfying novels.” --Publishers Weekly Starred Review

“With her beautiful storytelling, Perry weaves a tale (in The Forgiven) that expertly captures the expressions, attitudes and ways of the Pennsylvania Amish with precision and charm. Heartfelt and genuine, with characters that are distinctive yet universal, Perry’s writing will draw readers into Rebecca and Matt’s story immediately.  --4 ½ stars, RT Book Reviews Magazine

“With her beautiful storytelling, Perry weaves a tale (in The Forgiven) that expertly captures the expressions, attitudes and ways of the Pennsylvania Amish with precision and charm. Heartfelt and genuine, with characters that are distinctive yet universal, Perry’s writing will draw readers into Rebecca and Matt’s story immediately.”  --4 ½ stars, RT Book Reviews Magazine

“Perry carefully balances the traditional life of the Amish with the contemporary world in an accessible, intriguing fashion, both highlighting differences and drawing parallels. Explanations of unfamiliar concepts are woven into the tapestry of the tale, allow the whole to flow seamlessly. Strong characters are lovingly brought to life, illuminated with simplistic elegance.” --Publishers Weekly Starred Review

“Set within the Amish community, with a strong, sympathetic heroine at the center of a suspenseful plot, Perry’s HOME BY DARK hooks you immediately. Her uncanny ability to seamlessly blend the mystery element with contemporary themes makes this one intriguing read.”  --Four Stars! RT Book Reviews

“Superb…Magnificent Marta Perry provides another engaging Pleasant Valley tale.” –Genre Go Round Reviews
Katie’s Way stands alone, but readers will love…all of the novels in the order they were published…great characters and a bit of mystery…a delightful novel!”  --Romance Reviews Today
“A great story of friendship, second chances, and faith…wonderful.”  --Reviews from the Heart
“While Katie’s Way is a love story, it’s also a very complex story…I highly recommend this book and this series to anyone who loves Amish romances.”  --Night Owl Reviews
“In Sarah’s Gift, Perry’s narrative keeps a nice pace as things develop credibly…between Aaron and Sarah; the legal challenge makes for more than merely romantic tension. Minor characters are also clearly sketched and differentiated.”  --Publishers Weekly
“Those who enjoyed the first two Pleasant Valley titles will eagerly await Anna’s Return, which does not disappoint. It will also appeal to fans of Amy Clipston and Shelley Shepard Gray.”   --Library Journal
“What a joy it is to read Marta Perry’s novels! Leah’s Choice has everything a reader could want—strong, well-defined characters; beautiful, realistic settings; and a thought-provoking plot. Readers of Amish fiction will surely be waiting anxiously for her next book.”  --Shelley Shepard Gray, author of the Sisters of the Heart series
“Marta Perry has done an exceptional job describing the tradition of the Amish community in Leah’s Choice…a wonderful start to what is sure to be a very memorable series.”  --Romance Junkies
“While love is a powerful entity in this story, danger is never too far behind.” –RT Book Reviews on Season of Secrets (Top Pick)
“Marta Perry illuminates the differences between the Amish community and the larger society with an obvious care and respect for ways and beliefs… She weaves these differences into the story with a deft hand, drawing the reader into a suspenseful, continually moving plot.”  --Fresh Fiction on Murder in Plain Sight
Danger in Plain Sight is a strong romantic suspense as readers see how the Amish deal with a police investigation…filled with tension and several deft twists re the motive, Marta Perry provides a fabulous whodunit.   –The Mystery Gazette
“In Murder in Plain Sight Perry, with her deep knowledge of Amish culture, has crafted a dark, tangled, suspenseful tale that treats readers not only to a sweet romance and a seriously twisted…villain but to welcome insight into the customs and beliefs of the Plain People.” –Library Journal

 

NAOMI’S CHRISTMAS is a finalist for the Rita Award, given by Romance Writers of America, in the Inspirational Category.

KATIE’S WAY is a finalist in the Romance Writers of America’s Rita Award, 2012.
VANISH IN PLAIN SIGHT is a finalist in the Golden Quill Awards, 2012 and received the CRW Award of Excellence 2012.
SARAH’S GIFT is a finalist in the Award of Excellence, 2012.
LEAH'S CHOICE - received an Award of Merit in the Holt Medallion competition and was a finalist in the Book Buyers Best Award.
TWICE IN A LIFETIME - was a finalist in the Holt Medallion Best Southern Theme and the Desert Rose competition.
ANNA'S RETURN - was a finalist in the Inspie Awards for Amish fiction and a finalist in the Carol Awards.
MURDER IN PLAIN SIGHT was a finalist in the Daphne Du Maurier Award.
Marta Perry was the recipient of the 2004 Maroon and Gold Pen Award, given by Friends of the Bloomsburg University Library Association for her achievements in fiction writing.
HERO DAD - Book 3 of The Flanagans, won both the WRITE TOUCH writers award and the INSPIRATIONAL READERS CHOICE award for books released in 2005.
HERO IN HER HEART - won the Holt Medallion Award and was a finalist in the inspirational category of the Rita Award and the Laurie Award.
UNLIKELY HERO - the second book in the Flanagan series, was a finalist for the Holt Medallion and the National Readers' Choice Award and received third place honors in the Book of the Year Award, given by the American Christian Fiction Writers and received the CataRomance Reviewers Choice Award.
FATHER MOST BLESSED - Award of Excellence finalist
HUNTER'S BRIDE - Romantic Times Reviewers Choice finalist
A MOTHER'S WISH - Romantic Times Reviewers Choice finalist; Booksellers Best finalist
A TIME TO FORGIVE - Golden Quill finalist
A FATHER'S PLACE was the Bookseller's Best second place winner in the Inspirational category.
A FATHER'S PROMISE - finalist for the Golden Quill Award of Excellence.
SINCE YOU'VE BEEN GONE – Winner of the Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Best Love Inspired; Blue Boa Award second place; National Readers' Choice Award finalist; CRW Award of Excellence finalist.
DESPERATELY SEEKING DAD – Winner of the Rising Star Award; Winner of the Inspirational Readers' Choice Award.
ALWAYS IN HER HEART – was a finalist for the Award of Excellence in inspirational fiction given by the Colorado Romance Writers.
PROMISE FOREVER – placed second in the Barclay Gold Awards for inspirational fiction.
A CHRISTMAS TO DIE FOR – is the recipient of an Award of Merit from the Holt Medallion competition.
LEAH'S CHOICE - received an Award of Merit in the Holt Medallion competition and was a finalist in the Book Buyers Best Award.
TWICE IN A LIFETIME - was a finalist in the Holt Medallion Best Southern Theme and the Desert Rose competition.
ANNA'S RETURN - was a finalist in the Inspie Awards for Amish fiction.